Coder’s Block

LSL Doesn’t Count

For over 2 years now, I have experienced what is basically coder’s block. Except in Second Life.

I was exploring PHP after getting frustrated with not being able to figure out how to do variable variables in ASP, doing all kinds of fun things with it- I developed my own CMS after getting a 6 month work placement. I was developing more software, experimentin with setting up WAMP over and over again (evil windows 98).

I’d compiled all my weird little functions into an OOP library codebase…. and then it all stopped. I had planned all these cool projects, even gone so far as actually designing them (which isn’t my normal behaviour at all), but I never seemed to be able to start them- I’d have the WAMP running, Dreamweaver MX there, the database half designed, but no work would get done. I just couldn’t do anything.

Enter Second Life

Moving forward a couple of years, and we come to the present. I’ve been playing around LSL. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m helping new residents and volunteers alike. I’ve managed to get some maps of mine installed on Help Island. I’ve just started playing around with rez-fu.

None of this seems to be affected by my coder’s block in the real world. Is it possible for RL afflictions to not transition into SL ? This isn’t along the same lines of the many residents- including some of ones- who have Asperger’s: Tateru Nino

People… think differently when they have to serialize their thoughts into text,” Tateru speculates. “Maybe they think a little more like me. Certainly all the confusing body-cues and tone-cues don’t mean so much here.

. Nor something as mind-numbingly obvious as this: humdog

they want to fly…. in-game, the paraplegic can run, as he/or she might run, in their dreams.

.

I’m talking about things like problems with spacial awareness being non-existant because you can shape the world we live in, teleport instantly to specific point within the world- bypassing the arduous task of going from point A to point B via points C to F. Or low self-esteem because you did poorly on your art degree for not sticking within the strict definitions of what is art, only to find your work to be critically acclaimed across large portions of the grid.

Second Life does indeed seem to be a metaverse where the worries of the real world are not only forgotten, but solved. It also teaches you bad habits, like getting used to the strict syntax and informative IDE that tells you where you slipped up, getting a lot of potential bugs out of the way before the script is allowed to even run. My coder’s block seems to be waning now, but the only stumbling block seems to be the same thing that drove me from ASP (came with PWS on the win98 install disc) to PHP- having to figure out how to do something as simple as declaring a variable the way I want to.

1 Comment

  1. June 9, 2006 at 8:45 pm

    *hugs* well written!
    And too true (met more than one avatar with RL restrictions, mentally or physicaly, thriving in SL).


